Tarnished Are the Stars 🖤 Review + Giveaway

Ahh, I needed this solid, queer science fiction in my life. 🖤 

Thank you to the Fantastic Flying Book Club for giving me the opportunity to be on this tour!

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this post! ✨

Tarnished Are the Stars
by Rosiee Thor

Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, LGBT+

SYNOPSIS

book coverThe Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog—donning the moniker Technician—to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost—even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic—before the Commissioner ends them first.

REVIEW

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

What’s not to like about this book?

Science Fiction. Queer, likeable, engaging characters. Themes of overcoming personal and political obstacles. 🖤

The only reason this wasn’t a five star read for me is because it took me a long time to get into. Once I did, though, this became a great read. 

FAVORITE QUOTES

🖤 “Murder comes in many shapes. You don’t always have to look someone in the eye and watch them die to be their killer.”

🖤 “He wished she wouldn’t. He did not deserve to be touched, marred by dirt and filth and the kind of blood no one could see.”

🖤 “I don’t give much credence to regret. I can’t go back and change what’s done. All I can do is take what I learned and do better next time.”

🖤 “But perhaps all pretty things have thorns. The best things, at least, most certainly do.”

Character Art

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

authorRosiee Thor began her career as a storyteller by demanding that her mother listen as Rosiee told bedtime stories instead of the other way around.

She lives in Oregon with a dog, two cats, and four complete sets of Harry Potter, which she loves so much, she once moved her mattress into the closet and slept there until she came out as queer.

Check out Rosiee on her website or over on GoodreadsTwitterFacebook, and Instagram!

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble Kobo | Google Books

GIVEAWAY

Enter the giveaway to win a signed hardcover copy of Tarnished Are the Stars!

  • End Date: October 29, 2019

BOOK TOUR

Check out the rest of the stops along this blog tour!

What's on your mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s