Our Year of Maybe: Blog Tour and Giveaway

A new year, a new book tour!

I was sent an ARC of Our Year of Maybe by Rachel Lynn Solomon for review (plus a playlist and dreamcast) as a part of the Fantastic Flying Book Club.

Also, don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this post!

Our Year of Maybe
by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: January 15, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Synopsis

Aspiring choreographer Sophie Orenstein would do anything for Peter Rosenthal-Porter, who’s been on the kidney transplant list as long as she’s known him. Peter, a gifted pianist, is everything to Sophie: best friend, musical collaborator, secret crush. When she learns she’s a match, donating a kidney is an easy, obvious choice. She can’t help wondering if after the transplant, he’ll love her back the way she’s always wanted.

But Peter’s life post-transplant isn’t what either of them expected. Though he once had feelings for Sophie too, he’s now drawn to Chase, the guitarist in a band that happens to be looking for a keyboardist. And while neglected parts of Sophie’s world are calling to her—dance opportunities, new friends, a sister and niece she barely knows—she longs for a now-distant Peter more than ever, growing increasingly bitter he doesn’t seem to feel the same connection.

Peter fears he’ll forever be indebted to her. Sophie isn’t sure who she is without him. Then one blurry, heartbreaking night twists their relationship into something neither of them recognizes, leading them to question their past, their future, and whether their friendship is even worth fighting for.

Review

The main characters of this book Sophie and Peter were talented, flawed, annoying, selfish, kind—and human. Sophie is a dancer with a life-long crush in the making on her best friend Peter. Peter is a musician who is exploring his bisexuality and a healthier life with a new donor kidney—Sophie’s kidney. Sometimes I hated both these main characters, but other times I loved them.

I gave this book three stars because of its raw, bittersweet tone that encapsulates real life. I appreciated this book. But I didn’t love it.

I plan to go more in-depth on my BookTube channel about why I had a hard time with the climax and denouement of this book (which is full of spoilers, so I don’t want to include it in this review). Again, while it did feel “real,” it ruined my appreciation for both Sophie and Peter. And I wanted to appreciate them, especially Peter.

Anyway, I would totally recommend this book for fans of John Green, Robyn Schneider, and Rainbow Rowell. So, if that’s you, don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this post!

Playlist

Dream Cast

Image result for luca hollestelle
Sophie: Dutch actress Luca Hollestelle
Image result for timothée chalamet
Peter: American actor Timothée Chalamet

I made the mistake of looking at the author’s dream cast before creating my own—now I can’t unsee Luca Hollestelle as Sophie and Timothée Chlamet as Peter. Can you blame me though?

About the Author

Rachel Lynn Solomon lives, writes, and tap dances in Seattle, Washington. Once she helped set a Guinness World Record for the most natural redheads in one place. She’s the author of You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone (out now from Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse), Our Year of Maybe (1/15/19), and Today Tonight Tomorrow (2020). A short story of hers will appear in the anthology It’s a Whole Spiel (Penguin Random House/Knopf, fall 2019).

Book Links

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | B&N | iTunes

GIVEAWAY

Prize: A signed copy of OUR YEAR OF MAYBE (US Only)

Starting Date: January 9, 2019

Ending Date: January 20, 2019

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!

Book Tour

Check out the rest of the stops along this book tour!

My Uncomfortable Journey Finding a Publishing Internship 😬

morganvega blog post headers.png

I always knew I wanted to intern at a publishing house. But I didn’t know I would experience harassment on my journey to finding one.

Everyone please go check out Kore Press—a nonprofit intersectional feminist press in Arizona—where I’m thankfully now interning. 🖤

Let me know in the comments if you have any questions about my internship search or my experience as an intern! ✨

Cursed Rebel Book Blitz + Giveaway

morganvega blog post headers.png

I’m a part of my first book blitz! 🖤

Here’s all the info for a new book release, Cursed Rebel by H.G. Lynch. Have you heard of this book? Do you plan on picking it up? Let me know in the comments!

Cursed Rebel by H.G. Lynch

Release Date: October 5, 2018
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance


Synopsis

My grandma always warned me never to trust a Faery. I never believed they were real…until I was kidnapped by one.

Finn is an obnoxious, mercurial Fae whose job it is to bring me to the King. He’s gorgeous, but in this world, the prettiest things are the deadliest.

But if I want to survive the Fae realm and find a way home, I’ll have to trust him…for now.

Excerpt

The faery girl looked up at me, her smile fading. She looked at her empty hand sadly, her thin brows drawing together, and for a second, I felt horrible for upsetting her. Then she raised  her eyes back to mine, and they were cold and grey.

Her mouth twisted into a snarl, baring rows of sharp, pointy teeth, and let out a shriek of  anger. “Nasty, mortal filth!” she screeched.

Horror skittered through my bones, and a scream caught in my throat as she lunged off the  ground at me. Her curled fingers, like claws, aimed for my eyes. I stumbled backward and  tripped over a rock, hitting the ground on my back hard enough to knock the breath out of me.

My chest spasmed as I tried to suck in air for a scream, and the faery girl leapt on me like a giant spider, wrapping her tiny hands around my throat.

Book Links

Goodreads | Amazon

About the Author

54

H.G. Lynch is a paranormal romance author from Scotland. She is an avid reader and cat-lover. She spends most of her days writing, while wrestling her cat off her laptop. She loves horse-riding, Star Trek, and snow.

Her books are dark paranormal romances.

GIVEAWAY

  • PRIZE: Sterling Silver Claddagh Heart Ring and Elf Ear Cuffs!
  • ENDS: 10/10

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!

 

XBTBanner1

#CoralineReadalong Announcement 🕸️

morganvega blog post headers.png

I shared in my last post that I am hosting my first-ever readalong, the

Let me know in the comments if you plan to join me in reading the book, graphic novel, and watching the movie. 👌🏻

Here’s my announcement of the readalong on BookTube! 🖤