Tarnished Are the Stars 🖤 Review + Giveaway

Ahh, I needed this solid, queer science fiction in my life. 🖤 

Thank you to the Fantastic Flying Book Club for giving me the opportunity to be on this tour!

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this post! ✨

Tarnished Are the Stars
by Rosiee Thor

Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, LGBT+

SYNOPSIS

book coverThe Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog—donning the moniker Technician—to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost—even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic—before the Commissioner ends them first.

REVIEW

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

What’s not to like about this book?

Science Fiction. Queer, likeable, engaging characters. Themes of overcoming personal and political obstacles. 🖤

The only reason this wasn’t a five star read for me is because it took me a long time to get into. Once I did, though, this became a great read. 

FAVORITE QUOTES

🖤 “Murder comes in many shapes. You don’t always have to look someone in the eye and watch them die to be their killer.”

🖤 “He wished she wouldn’t. He did not deserve to be touched, marred by dirt and filth and the kind of blood no one could see.”

🖤 “I don’t give much credence to regret. I can’t go back and change what’s done. All I can do is take what I learned and do better next time.”

🖤 “But perhaps all pretty things have thorns. The best things, at least, most certainly do.”

Character Art

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

authorRosiee Thor began her career as a storyteller by demanding that her mother listen as Rosiee told bedtime stories instead of the other way around.

She lives in Oregon with a dog, two cats, and four complete sets of Harry Potter, which she loves so much, she once moved her mattress into the closet and slept there until she came out as queer.

Check out Rosiee on her website or over on GoodreadsTwitterFacebook, and Instagram!

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble Kobo | Google Books

GIVEAWAY

Enter the giveaway to win a signed hardcover copy of Tarnished Are the Stars!

  • End Date: October 29, 2019

BOOK TOUR

Check out the rest of the stops along this blog tour!

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina: Season of the Witch 🖤 Review + Giveaway

I’m a part of another gorgeous book tour thanks to the Fantastic Flying Book Club, and let me tell you, I’m excited about this one. 🖤

I grew up watching Sabrina the Teenage Witch with my sisters, and I’ve loved Netflix’s new show. So being apart of this blog tour for the prequel to season two is such a chilling joy.

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this post!

Sabrina: Season of the Witch (The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #1) by Sara Rees Brennan

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Release Date: July 9, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Horror, Paranormal

Synopsis

43261389It’s the summer before her sixteenth birthday, and Sabrina Spellman knows her world is about to change. She’s always studied magic and spells with her aunts, Hilda and Zelda. But she’s also lived a normal mortal life—attending Baxter High, hanging out with her friends Susie and Roz, and going to the movies with her boyfriend, Harvey Kinkle.

Now time is running out on her every day, normal world, and leaving behind Roz and Susie and Harvey is a lot harder than she thought it would be. Especially because Sabrina isn’t sure how Harvey feels about her. Her cousin Ambrose suggests performing a spell to discover Harvey’s true feelings. But when a mysterious wood spirit interferes, the spell backfires…in a big way.

Sabrina has always been attracted to the power of being a witch. But now she can’t help wondering if that power is leading her down the wrong path. Will she choose to forsake the path of light and follow the path of night?

Our exclusive prequel novel will reveal a side of Sabrina not seen on the new NETFLIX show. What choice will Sabrina make…and will it be the right one?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

MG_8736-edit-NEW

Sarah Rees Brennan is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels have been long-listed for the Carnegie Medal and short-listed for both a Nebula Award and a Hugo Award, as well as received multiple starred reviews. Her most recent novels include In Other Lands, Tell the Wind and Fire and the Lynburn Legacy trilogy. 

Check out Sarah on her website or over on GoodreadsTwitter, and Instagram!

Book Links

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Kobo | iBooks | IndieBound

GIVEAWAY

Enter the giveaway to win a copy of Sabrina: Season of the Witch!

  • End Date: July 31, 2019
  • US only

BOOK TOUR

Check out the rest of the stops along this blog tour!