Tarnished Are the Stars 🖤 Review + Giveaway

Ahh, I needed this solid, queer science fiction in my life. 🖤 

Thank you to the Fantastic Flying Book Club for giving me the opportunity to be on this tour!

Don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this post! ✨

Tarnished Are the Stars
by Rosiee Thor

Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, LGBT+

SYNOPSIS

book coverThe Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog—donning the moniker Technician—to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost—even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic—before the Commissioner ends them first.

REVIEW

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

What’s not to like about this book?

Science Fiction. Queer, likeable, engaging characters. Themes of overcoming personal and political obstacles. 🖤

The only reason this wasn’t a five star read for me is because it took me a long time to get into. Once I did, though, this became a great read. 

FAVORITE QUOTES

🖤 “Murder comes in many shapes. You don’t always have to look someone in the eye and watch them die to be their killer.”

🖤 “He wished she wouldn’t. He did not deserve to be touched, marred by dirt and filth and the kind of blood no one could see.”

🖤 “I don’t give much credence to regret. I can’t go back and change what’s done. All I can do is take what I learned and do better next time.”

🖤 “But perhaps all pretty things have thorns. The best things, at least, most certainly do.”

Character Art

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

authorRosiee Thor began her career as a storyteller by demanding that her mother listen as Rosiee told bedtime stories instead of the other way around.

She lives in Oregon with a dog, two cats, and four complete sets of Harry Potter, which she loves so much, she once moved her mattress into the closet and slept there until she came out as queer.

Check out Rosiee on her website or over on GoodreadsTwitterFacebook, and Instagram!

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble Kobo | Google Books

GIVEAWAY

Enter the giveaway to win a signed hardcover copy of Tarnished Are the Stars!

  • End Date: October 29, 2019

BOOK TOUR

Check out the rest of the stops along this blog tour!

The Fever King 🖤 Review + Giveaway

I know I keep going on and on about The Fantastic Flying Book Club, but they are amazing.

Today they’re amazing because they gave me the opportunity to be a part of the blog tour for The Fever King by Victoria Lee. 

I actually heard about this book through Pitch Wars last year when I had entered my manuscript Sleeping Around. Victoria had entered this book, and I had talked to her on Twitter. 

So basically I was thrilled to join this tour and support Victoria. 🖤

And don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this post!

The Fever King (Feverwake #1) by Victoria Lee

Publisher: Skyscape
Release Date: March 1, 2019
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, LGBT

Synopsis

In the former United States, sixteen-year-old Noam Álvaro wakes up in a hospital bed, the sole survivor of the viral magic that killed his family and made him a technopath. His ability to control technology attracts the attention of the minister of defense and thrusts him into the magical elite of the nation of Carolinia.

The son of undocumented immigrants, Noam has spent his life fighting for the rights of refugees fleeing magical outbreaks—refugees Carolinia routinely deports with vicious efficiency. Sensing a way to make change, Noam accepts the minister’s offer to teach him the science behind his magic, secretly planning to use it against the government. But then he meets the minister’s son—cruel, dangerous, and achingly beautiful—and the way forward becomes less clear.

Caught between his purpose and his heart, Noam must decide who he can trust and how far he’s willing to go in pursuit of the greater good.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Victoria Lee grew up in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent twelve ascetic years as a vegetarian before discovering spicy chicken wings are, in fact, a delicacy. She’s been a state finalist competitive pianist, a hitchhiker, a pizza connoisseur, an EMT, an expat in China and Sweden, and a science doctoral student. She’s also a bit of a snob about fancy whisky.

Victoria writes early in the morning, then spends the rest of the day trying to impress her border collie puppy and make her experiments work.

She is represented by Holly Root and Taylor Haggerty at Root Literary.

Check out Victoria on her website or over on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram!

REVIEW

Rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Ahh. This book has so many things. 

The themes, the characters, the magic, the discourse on immigration. And I love me some bisexual representation. 

I had a hard time getting into the story at first. It’s a dystopian setting, and there was a lot of world building going on in the beginning. Once I got my head around the setting, though, I was hooked. 

I needed to get to the bottom of the politics. I needed to know who Noam could trust. And, per usual, I needed romance. 

There is something for everyone in this book, and I’m so looking forward to the rest of this new series. 🖤

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

GIVEAWAY

Enter the giveaway to win a copy of The Fever King!

  • Start Date: March 18, 2019
  • End Date: March 31, 2019
  • US Only

BOOK TOUR

Check out the rest of the stops along this blog tour!

This Cruel Design Book Blog Tour | Review + GIVEAWAY

morganvega blog post headers.png

So I received both This Mortal Coil and This Cruel Design by Emily Suvada for free in exchange for review and omg. 😍 I’m so happy I signed up for this blog tour.

I didn’t expect to be obsessed with this series but here I am. 🖤

And don’t miss out on the giveaway at the end of this post!

ThisCruelDesign_TourBanner

This Cruel Design by Emily Suvada

Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: October 30, 2018
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

33876440SYNOPSIS

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own.

When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?

38316465SYNOPSIS

Cat thought the Hydra epidemic was over, but when new cases pop up, Cat must team up with an enemy to fix the vaccine before the virus spirals out of control in this thrilling sequel to This Mortal Coil, which New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman says “redefines ‘unputdownable.’”

The nightmare of the outbreak is finally over, but Cat’s fight has only just begun.

Exhausted, wounded, and reeling from revelations that have shaken her to her core, Cat is at a breaking point. Camped in the woods with Cole and Leoben, she’s working day and night, desperate to find a way to stop Lachlan’s plan to reprogram humanity. But she’s failing—Cat can’t even control her newly regrown panel, and try as she might to ignore them, she keeps seeing glitching visions from her past everywhere she turns.

When news arrives that the Hydra virus might not be as dead as they’d thought, the group is pushed into an uneasy alliance with Cartaxus to hunt down Lachlan and fix the vaccine. Their search takes them to Entropia, a city of genehackers hidden deep in the desert that could also hold the answers about Cat’s past that she’s been searching for.

But when confronted with lies and betrayals, Cat is forced to question everything she knows and everyone she trusts. And while Lachlan is always two steps ahead, the biggest threat to Cat may be the secrets buried in her own mind.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

EmilySuvada_AuthorPhoto

5facebook-icon-previewinstagram-camera-logo-black-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-ynarw0-cliparticon-twitterpinterest-logo

Emily Suvada was born and raised in Australia, where she went on to study mathematics and astrophysics. She previously worked as a data scientist, and still spends hours writing algorithms to perform tasks which would only take minutes to complete on her own. When not writing, she can be found hiking, cycling, and conducting chemistry experiments in her kitchen. She currently lives in Portland, OR, with her husband.

REVIEW

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Both books. Five stars. Love, love, love. 🖤

For both books, I got swept away in the plot and the complexities of this dystopian world. (I’m trash for dystopian.) I kept thinking I knew what was coming, but plot twist after plot twist kept me rethinking and guessing and hanging on to each chapter. Plus, almost every chapter—not to mention book—ended on a cliff hanger, and I was desperate to know what would happen next. (I’m also desperate for the third book in this series.)

Dystopians, I love them, but they can end up feeling repetitive—but this was a unique take on the genre. Hacking, coding, cloning. It’s science fiction, but it’s also now, so the story felt more immersive and believable.

I also loved Cat, complex yet compassionate Cat. She’s likeable but not too likeable, which is basically my perfect protagonist. 👍🏻 The secondary characters are also so incredibly developed, particularly our love interest Cole and goofy brother Leoben.

From the world building to the characters to the plot, I’m honestly in awe of Emily Suvada’s writing style. ✨ This is such a big story and she keeps pulling it off. Fingers crossed I love the third book just as much! 🤞🏻

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

GIVEAWAY

  • PRIZE: 2 copies of This Cruel Design by Emily Suvada
  • US Only
  • Starts: 10/22
  • Ends: 10/31

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!

BOOK TOUR

Check out the rest of the stops along this book tour!